Honorary Committee for NJ Walks For TS at Princeton grows to 22 members from New Jersey and beyond

Collaborative Partnerships for the Tourette Syndrome Community

The event will take place Sunday, April 6, and will benefit the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Program, which supports graduating New Jersey high school seniors with Tourette Syndrome

WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The NJ Center for Tourette Syndrome & Associated Disorders (NJCTS) is proud to announce the formation of an Honorary Committee for the 1st NJ Walks for TS at Princeton, which will take place Sunday, April 6, at Mercer County Park. The walk will be a day of advocacy, awareness, acceptance and action geared toward raising funds to support the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Program.

Support is pouring in from all corners of the state, and each Honorary Committee member has demonstrated their firm support for NJCTS and the 1 in 100 kids and families living with Tourette Syndrome – an inherited, misdiagnosed, misunderstood neurological disorder characterized by involuntary sounds and movements known as tics. The Honorary Committee members, as of March 27, are:

Tim Howard, starting goalkeeper for the United State Men’s

National Soccer Team and a member of the NJCTS Board of Directors

Craig Carton, radio host on WFAN Sports Talk Radio and an Honorary Member of the NJCTS Board of Directors

Dr. Jay A. Tischfield, Human Genetics Institute of New Jersey

Dr. Robert King, Yale University Child Study Center and Yale TS/OCD Clinic

Dr. Stuart Green, Overlook Medical Center in Summit

Debra L. Wentz, PhD, Executive Director of the New Jersey Association of Mental Health Agencies

Rebecca Spar, Esq., educational rights attorney for Cole Schotz of Hackensack

NJ Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney (D), representing District 3

NJ Senator Jim Whelan (D), representing District 2

NJ Senator Christopher “Kip” Bateman (R), representing District 16

NJ Senator Joseph M. Kyrillos (R), representing District 13

NJ Senator Linda R. Greenstein (D), representing District 14

NJ Senator Joseph F. Vitale (D), representing District 19


NJ Assemblyman Vincent Mazzeo (D), representing District 2

NJ Assemblyman Troy Singleton (D), representing District 3

NJ Assemblywoman Celeste M. Riley (D), representing District 3

NJ Assemblyman Daniel R. Benson (D), representing District 14

NJ Assemblyman Wayne P. DeAngelo (D), representing District 14

NJ Assemblywoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (D), representing District 15

NJ Assemblyman Jack M. Ciattarelli (R), representing District 16

NJ Assemblywoman Donna M. Simon (R), representing District 16

NJ Assemblyman John S. Wisniewski (D), representing District 19

“The NJ Center for Tourette Syndrome thanks each of these esteemed Honorary Committee members for their extensive support of children and families affected by this often devastating neurological disorder,” NJCTS Executive Director Faith W. Rice said. “It is my hope that New Jersey’s Tourette Syndrome and the general public joins them at NJ Walks For TS at Princeton on April 6 in support of the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Program.”

For the past 10 years, the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Program has supported more than 200 graduating New Jersey high school seniors with Tourette Syndrome and awarded them scholarships on the merits of academic achievement, community involvement and personal accomplishment as an individual living with TS and its associated neurological disorders.

More information about NJ Walks for TS at Princeton is available by visiting www.njcts.org.

# # #

NJ Center for Tourette Syndrome and Associated Disorders, Inc. Collaborative partnerships for the Tourette Syndrome community