Medical Marijuana: What’s the Process?

Today’s guest post is from a TS parent in South Jersey who has done the research into medical marijuana now that TS is a qualifying condition. She’s done the legwork and would like to share it with fellow parents!

Hello! As you may have heard, Tourette Syndrome is now a qualifying condition for medical marijuana in the State of New Jersey. As with any medication, the decision to use it is strictly between your family and your physician. If you feel this is something you would like to look into, you will find the steps below for the process. From start to finish, the process takes about 3 weeks if you have all of your paperwork in order.

NJ Medical Marijuana Program “How-to” Process

  1. Go to the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program website at: http://www.nj.gov/health/medicalmarijuana/
  2. Find a doctor who is part of the NJMMP: http://www.nj.gov/health/medicalmarijuana/patients/find-doctor/
  3. Schedule your appointment. You will need to bring with you:
  • Tourette Syndrome diagnosis from a doctor
  • Letter from Child psychologist claiming they believe child is a good candidate for the program and that the family does not have a history of substance abuse
  • Identification for the child and caregiver
    • Caregiver must bring a recent bill with their name and address for id purposes
  1. The doctor might not accept insurance, so be prepared to pay approximately $100.


  1. The doctor’s office will start the registration process for you and give you the Attending Physician Statement. This will have your id and reference numbers on it.
  2. You will also receive a NJ Universal Fingerprint form from the doctor’s office.
  3. Go to: https://nj.ibtfingerprint.com/  to schedule a time to get fingerprinted (you cannot do this until you have the paperwork from the doctor).
  4. You will need to pay a fee of about $62.00 when you schedule your appointment.
    • You will be given a list of locations to choose from
    • You will need to bring the Attending Physician form, NJ Universal Fingerprint form, and ID with you.
  5. The background check will take approximately 2-4 weeks.
  6. You will be notified via email that your application has been reviewed. You will be prompted to log in and pay a fee for your ID cards (approximately $100).
    • You should receive your cards in the mail in about 1 week

11. Once you receive your card you can go to a dispensary near you. A list can be found on the website: http://www.nj.gov/health/medicalmarijuana/alt-treatment-centers/

12. Call the dispensary and schedule your first visit.

  • They will sit down with you and review the laws as well as explain all about the different types of medical marijuana
  • They will help you decide the best route for your child/you
  • No one is allowed into the dispensary without a medical marijuana card
    • Only the designated caregiver and child
  • Make sure to bring your Medical Marijuana card and your driver’s license, as well as your child’s Medical Marijuana card and id if they have it
  • You will not be let in without these
  • Insurance is not accepted but a large discount is given for minors


  1. Could you give me the instructions for Georgia? Also- I’m new at finding resources as I’ve been brainwashed by my son’s psychiatrist for 4 years now about the TS. Any groups, types of doctors, therapies that we should seek above others? I’m desperate.

    • I’m sorry to hear about the struggles you and your son are going through.

      Here are the steps to obtain a medical marijuana card in Georgia:

      Check Eligibility: Verify that your son’s condition is listed in Georgia’s qualifying conditions for medical marijuana use. Tourette Syndrome (TS) is included in the list.

      Doctor’s Certification: You will need to get a written certification from a physician registered with the Georgia Department of Public Health stating that your son is suffering from one of the qualifying conditions. This certificate verifies that the physician has examined and reviewed your son’s medical history, and that they believe your son will benefit from the use of low THC oil.

      Apply for a Card: Once you have the certification, you can apply for a Low THC Oil Registry Card. The application must be completed and submitted by the qualifying patient’s physician.

      Fee Payment: There is a $25 application fee for the card. The card is valid for two years from the date issued. After that, cardholders need to again consult with their physician and apply for a renewal.

      As for other resources, it might be beneficial to look into support groups for parents of children with TS and similar neurological conditions. The Tourette Association of America (TAA) has an extensive network of local chapters, support groups, and resources.

      Therapies that are often recommended for managing TS symptoms include Comprehensive Behavioral Intervention for Tics (CBIT), psychoeducation, and medication. Different approaches work for different individuals, so it’s essential to work with healthcare providers to determine the most effective treatment plan for your son.

      As always, please consult with a medical professional for the most personalized advice. Wishing you and your son the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *