NJCTS announces Class of 2013 Children’s Scholarship Award winners

scholarshipThe New Jersey Center for Tourette Syndrome & Associated Disorders (NJCTS) is proud to announce the 2013 recipients of the annual Children’s Scholarship Award, which this year are being given in honor of the late Dr. Nathan Weiss and his contributions to organization.

Dr. Weiss, President Emeritus of Kean University who passed away on April 9, was a longtime friend and trusted adviser to NJCTS – frequently providing guidance on educational issues, New Jersey state politics and much more.

Each student was selected for his or her academic achievement, community service and accomplishments as an individual with Tourette Syndrome – an inherited, misunderstood, misdiagnosed neurological disorder that affects 1 in 100 children.

Since 2001, the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Award has been awarded to more than 200 outstanding high school seniors in the state of New Jersey who have excelled in their schools, communities and lives – representing themselves as excellent advocates for Tourette Syndrome.

Beginning Tuesday, June 11, and continuing through the end of the month, Teens4TS will profile the following 29013 NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Award winners:

  • Amanda L. Silvers of East Brunswick, East Brunswick High School, first-place winner and the author of this amazing poem
  • Eliana F. Roth of Cherry Hill, Cherry Hill High School West, second place
  • Evan A. Bisirri of Marlton, Cherokee High School, honorable mention
  • Ellen B. Carpinielli of Summit, Summit High School, honorable mention
  • Jordan C. Chervin of Manalapan, Manalapan High School, honorable mention
  • Jayne DeRogatis of Basking Ridge, Ridge High School, honorable mention
  • Emily A. Fleischman of Fort Lee, River Dell Regional High School, honorable-mention winner and a frequent blogger for Teens4TS
  • Lauren C. Francis of Iselin, Bishop Ahr High School, honorable mention
  • Clifton S. Hilliard of Pennington, Hopewell Valley Central High School, honorable mention
  • Conor McCarthy of Point Pleasant, Point Pleasant High School, honorable mention
  • Brandon T. Moszkowicz of Collingswood, Collingswood High School, honorable mention
  • Robert F. O’Hearn of Marlton, Cherokee High School, honorable mention
  • Paul W. Rothlauf of Ringwood, Lakeland Regional High School, honorable mention
  • Connor E. Travis of Berlin, Eastern High School, honorable mention
  • Benjamin E. Weinfeld of East Brunswick, East Brunswick High School, honorable mention

“On behalf of the NJCTS Children’s Scholarship Award Committee, I congratulate each applicant for their extraordinary work and wish them the best as they pursue higher education upon graduation from high school this June,” NJCTS Executive Director Faith W. Rice said. “Each one of these fine young men and women has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, community service and accomplishments. We in the Tourette Syndrome community take great pride in being able to recognize these students.”




  1. Congrats to all of you! You really deserve it! Don’t let anyone ever tell you otherwise!

  2. I need to find out if our TSA here in Australia has something like this. This is just wonderful that you do this for the kids in the states!

    • JD, yes, it is for NJ high school seniors with Tourette Syndrome only. We actually had a student from New York State submit one to us this year, but we could not consider it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *