Annual Awards and Scholarship Luncheon

Executive Director Pat Phillips and Kim Rice present the Faith W. Rice Legacy Award to Dr. Jay Tischfield.

NJCTS awarded college scholarships and celebrated our top professionals, walk teams, Youth Advocate of the Year, and our very first Faith W. Rice Legacy Award Winner at a special luncheon at Maggiano’s Little Italy in Bridgewater, NJ on Friday, June 3.  Joining the honorees and NJCTS staff and board members was State Senator Andrew Zwicker (D16) who presented each honoree with a special citation.

Academic achievement, community involvement and accomplishments all play a part in the NJCTS Scholarship Committee’s decision in selecting winning candidates each year. This year’s recipients are going off the college’s like Rutgers School of Engineering, Michigan State, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Faith Rice Memorial Scholarship
Kyla Butler

First Place Scholarship
Adyan Khondker
Noelle Powers

Second Place Scholarship
Ava DeFino
Anna Heicklen

The NJCTS professional awards are designated for health care and education professionals in New Jersey who have had a positive influence on the Tourette Syndrome community through education, outreach or research efforts.

Healthcare Professional of the Year
Dr. Marla Deibler
The Center for Emotional Health of Greater Philadelphia

Educator of the Year
Stephanie Logan
Mantua Public Schools

The Youth Advocate of the Year award is presented to a graduating advocates who went above and beyond for NJCTS during their time in high school. NJCTS Youth Advocates are dedicated to improving awareness and breaking the stigma of TS by educating the public, medical professionals, and educators, and by supporting kids and families living with TS.

Youth Advocate of the Year
AnnaClaire Sems

NJCTS conducts their virtual event NJ Walks for TS in conjunction with TS Awareness Month (May 15 to June 15) each year. To date, our walk participants have raised more than $20,000 in 2022.

Top NJ Walks for TS Fundraiser
Sofia Trabilcy

The Faith W. Rice Legacy Award is given to anyone who, like NJCTS founder Faith Rice, embodies an indomitable spirit and has been a vanguard in advocating and educating others about TS. This individual has gone above and beyond in research, education, healthcare, or in their community to ensure that the lives of those living with Tourette Syndrome have been enriched because of the accomplishments they have made. They are bringing an awareness of TS to a wider circle and advancing NJCTS’ mission.

Faith W. Rice Legacy Award
Dr. Jay A. Tischfield